Skip to content

Director’s Update: NIMH Grantees Elected to Membership in National Academy of Sciences

On April 29, 2008, four NIMH grantees were among the 72 new members elected to the National Academy of Sciences, a private, non-governmental organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to advancing science and promoting its uses for the greater good. The Academy also acts as an official advisor to the federal government on issues related to science and technology.

Below are the newly elected members and their affiliated organizations, as well as their most recent NIMH-funded grants.

  • Thomas D. Albright, Ph.D.; professor and director, vision center laboratory, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, San Diego
    • Neural Correlates of Perceptual Motion Integration
  • Steve A. Kay, Ph.D.; Dean and Richard C. Atkinson Chair, division of biological sciences, University of California, San Diego, La Jolla
    • Molecular Analysis of Circadian Rhythm in Single Cells
    • Cell Biology of Circadian Signaling Mechanisms
  • Ronald C. Kessler, Ph.D.; professor, department of health care policy, Harvard Medical School, Boston
    • Epidemiology: Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Disorders
    • Patterns and Predictors of Use of Mental Health Services
    • Behavioral Science: Childhood Adversity & Adult Disorder
    • Epidemiology: National Comorbidity Survey Replication
    • Risk Factors for Psychopathology in the WHO WHM Surveys
  • Michael B. Oldstone, M.D.; professor and head, viral-immunobiology laboratory, department of immunology and microbial science, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla
    • Nervous-Immune System Interaction: CNS Effects of HIV

With the addition of these new members, the National Academy of Sciences currently has 2,041 active members and 397 foreign associates from nine countries.