Skip to content

Director’s Update: NIMH Grantees Elected to Membership in National Academy of Sciences

On April 27, 2010, three NIMH grantees were among the 72 new members elected to the National Academy of Sciences, a private, non-governmental organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to advancing science and promoting its uses for the greater good. The Academy also acts as an official advisor to the federal government on issues related to science and technology.

Below are the newly elected members and their affiliated organizations, as well as their field of research:

  • J. Eric Gouaux, Ph.D.; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and senior scientist, Vollum Institute, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland
    • structure and function of neurotransmitter receptors and transporters
  • Terrence J. Sejnowski, Ph.D.; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and professor of biology, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla
    • computational analysis of visual processes, learning, and memory
  • Larry W. Swanson, Ph.D.; Milo Don and Lucille Appleman Professor of Biological Sciences, department of biological sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
    • brain systems that control the basic drives and emotions

With the election of these new members, the National Academy of Sciences currently has 2,097active members and 409 foreign associates from 14 countries.