Skip to content

Director’s Update: NIMH Grantees Elected to Membership in National Academy of Sciences

On May 3, 2011, nine NIMH grantees were among the 72 new members elected to the National Academy of Sciences, a private, non-profit organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to advancing science and promoting its uses for the greater good. The Academy also acts as an official advisor to the federal government on issues related to science and technology.

Below are the newly elected members, affiliated organizations, and title of their most recent NIMH-funded grants:

  • Huda Akil, Ph.D.; Co-director, Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience Institute, and Gardner Quarton Distinguished University Professor of Neuroscience and Psychiatry, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
    • Research Training – Biological Sciences
  • Barbara A. Dosher, Ph.D.; Dean, School of Social Science, and Professor, Department of Cognitive Science, University of California, Irvine
    • Mechanisms and Taxonomy of Visual Attention
  • Michael S. Gazzaniga, Ph.D.; Director, Sage Center for the Study of the Mind, University of California, Santa Barbara
    • Summer Institute in Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Brian K. Kobilka, M.D.; Professor, Departments of Molecular and Cellular Physiology and Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, Calif.
    • Production of 15N and 13C labeled GPCRs for NMR Spectroscopy
  • Robert C. Malenka, Ph.D., M.D.; Pritzker Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Director, Nancy Friend Pritzker Laboratory, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, Calif.
    • Mechanisms of Synaptic Plasticity in the Hippocampus
    • Activity-Dependent Synaptic and Circuit Plasticity
  • Ellen M. Markman, Ph.D., Lewis M. Terman Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
    • Reanalysis of Conceptual Organization and Development
  • Susan K. McConnell, Ph.D.; Susan B. Ford Professor, Department of Biology, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
    • Neurogenesis and Migration in Developing Cerebral Cortex
  • Luis F. Parada, Ph.D.; Professor and Diana K. and Richard C. Strauss Distinguished Chair in Developmental Biology, Department of Developmental Biology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
    • The Ability of BDNF in the NAc an VTA in to Regulate Mood & Motivational
  • Stephen T. Warren, Ph.D.; William Patterson Timmie Professor and Chair, Department of Human Genetics, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta
    • Schizophrenia Susceptibility by Copy Number Variation in the Ashkenazim
    • Bipolar I Susceptibility by Copy Number Variation in an Isolated Population
    • Training Program in Human Disease Genetics

With the election of these new members, the National Academy of Sciences currently has 2,113 active members and 418 foreign associates from 15 countries.