Skip to content

218th Meeting of the National Advisory Mental Health Council Open Policy Session Agenda

Thursday, May 22, 2008

Time Event
3:30 pm Call To Order
Thomas R. Insel, M.D., Chairman
Director, National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

3:30-5:00 pm Concept Clearances
Presenters: David Armstrong, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Activities (DEA)
Promoting Outstanding Mental Health Innovators in Scientific Excellence (PrOMISE)

Jane Pearson, Ph.D.
Division of Services and Intervention Research
Suicide Prevention Efforts in Emergency Medicine Departments

Susan Koester, Ph.D.
Division of Neuroscience and Basic Behavioral Science (DNBBS)
Comparative Studies of Cortical Development to Link Developmental Neuroscience and Behavior

Thomas Lehner, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Division of Neuroscience and Basic Behavioral Science
The GEI Systems Biology Initiative

Farris Tuma, Sc.D.
Division of Adult Translational Research and Treatment Development (DATR)
Clinical Pharmacotherapy for PTSD

Jeymohan Joseph, Ph.D.
Center for Mental Health Research on AIDS
Viral and Host Genetic Factors Regulating HIV-Associated CNS Disease

William Riley, Ph.D.
Division of AIDS and Health and Behavior Research
Home-Based Lithium Level Testing for Bipolar Patients

Robert Heinssen, Ph.D.
Division of Services and Intervention Research (DSIR)
Addressing the Mental Health Needs of Returning Combat Veterans in the Community

5:00 pm Recess (Session will resume in Open Policy at 8:30 a.m., Friday, May 23, NIH Campus, Building 31C, 6th Floor, Conference Room 6.)

Friday, May 23, 2008
Building 31C, 6th Floor, Conference Room 6
National Institutes of Health
9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20892

Time Event
8:30–8:35 am Call To Order
Thomas R. Insel, M.D.
Director, NIMH

8:35–9:00 am Director’s Report
Presenter: Thomas R. Insel, M.D.
Director, NIMH


9:00-9:30 am DSM-V Research Conferences and Task Force Development Report
Presenters: Darrel A. Regier, M.D., M.P.H.
Executive Director, American Psychiatric Institute for Research and Education
Director, Division of Research, American Psychiatric Association

David J. Kupfer, M.D.
Thomas Detre Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry, and Professor of Neuroscience
University of Pittsburgh, School of Medicine

9:30-9:45 am NIMH Council Workgroup on Research Training: Update on Activities
Presenters: Dilip Jeste, M.D.

Workgroup Chair
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair in Aging; Director, Sam and Rose Stein Institute for
Research on Aging
Chief, Geriatric Psychiatry Division
VA San Diego Healthcare System
University of California, San Diego


9:45-10:00 am Council Workgroup on Neurodevelopment: Presentation of Recommendations
Presenters: Pat Levitt, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Director, Vanderbilt Kennedy Center for Research on Human Development
Vanderbilt University

John S. March, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor and Chief
Department of Psychiatry
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Duke University Medical Center

10:00- 10:15 am Break
10:15 am -12:15 pm NIMH NEW Investigators
Presenters: Thomas Blanpied, Ph.D.
Department of Physiology
University of Maryland, Baltimore
Baltimore, MD

Amanda Law, Ph.D.
University of Oxford
Visiting Scholar at the National Institute of Mental Health
Division of Intramural Research Programs
Bethesda, MD

Beatriz Luna, Ph.D.
Laboratory of Neurocognitive Development
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA

David Mandell, Sc.D.
Center for Mental Health Policy and Services Research
Department of Psychiatry
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA















12:15-12:30 pm Public Comments
12:30 am Adjourn