Skip to content

NAMHC Minutes of the 224th Meeting

February 12, 2010

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Public Health Service
National Institutes of Health
National Institute of Mental Health


The National Advisory Mental Health Council (NAMHC) convened a closed session meeting to review grant applications via teleconference. The meeting began at 10:00 a.m. on February 12, 2010, and adjourned at approximately 1:00 p.m. (see Appendix A: Review of Applications). Thomas R. Insel, M.D., Director, National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) chaired the meeting. The open policy session was cancelled due to a weather emergency in the Washington, DC Metro area.

Council Members Present at the Grant Review Session

(See Appendix B: Council Roster)


  • Thomas R. Insel, M.D.

Executive Secretary

  • Jane A. Steinberg, Ph.D.

Council Members

  • David Amaral, Ph.D.
  • Carl C. Bell, M.D.
  • Robert Desimone, Ph.D.
  • Ralph J. DiClemente, Ph.D.
  • Howard B. Eichenbaum, Ph.D.
  • Daniel H. Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Portia E. lversen
  • Kay Jamison, Ph.D.
  • Dilip V. Jeste, M.D.
  • David Lewis, M.D.
  • Roberto Lewis-Fernandez, M.D.
  • David A. Lewis, M.D.
  • John S. March, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Steven M. Paul, M.D
  • Enola Proctor, Ph.D.
  • Rhonda Robinson Beal, M.D.


Dr. Insel adjourned the 224th meeting of the NAMHC at 1:00 p.m. on February 12, 2010.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Thomas R. Insel, M.D., Chairperson

Appendix A

Summary of Primary MH Applications Reviewed
February 2010

Category IRG Recommendation
  Scored # Scored Direct Cost $ Not Scored (NRFC)# Not Scored (NRFC) Direct Cost $ Other # Other Direct Cost $ Total # Total Direct Cost $
Research 616 $719,781,604.00 425 $387,514,756.00 1 $275,000.00 1042 $1,107,571,360.00
Research Training 44 $71,520,643.00 5 $8,191,482.00 0 $0.00 49 $79,712,125.00
Career 68 $51,048,555.00 21 $15,163,827.00 0 $0.00 89 $66,212,382.00
Other 29 $25,434,917.00 56 $46,484,563.00 1 $0.00 86 $71,919,480.00
Totals 757 $867,785,719.00 507 $457,354,628.00 2 $275,000.00 1266 $1,325,415,347.00

Appendix B: Council Roster

(Terms end 9/30 of designated year)


  • Thomas R. Insel, M.D.
    National Institute of Mental Health
    Bethesda, MD

Executive Secretary

  • Jane A. Steinberg, Ph.D.
    Division of Extramural Activities
    National Institute of Mental Health
    Bethesda, MD


  • David G. Amaral, Ph.D. (12)
    Department of Psychiatry
    The M.I.N.D. Institute
    University of California, Davis
    Sacramento, CA
  • Carl C. Bell, M.D. (11)
    President and CEO
    Community Mental Health Council and Foundation, Inc.
    Chicago, IL
  • Elizabeth Childs, M.D., M.P.A. (10)
    Private Practice
    Brookline, MA
  • Robert Desimone, Ph.D. (11)
    Director, McGovern Institute for Brain Research
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, MA
  • Ralph J. DiClemente, Ph.D. (12)
    Candler Professor
    Department of Behavioral Sciences and
    Health Education
    Rollins School of Public Health
    Emory University
    Atlanta, GA
  • Howard B. Eichenbaum, Ph.D. (12)
    Professor and Director
    Center for Memory and Brain
    Department of Psychology
    Boston University
    Boston, MA
  • Daniel H. Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D. (11)
    Gordon & Virginia MacDonald
    Distinguished Chair in Human Genetics
    Professor of Neurology & Psychiatry
    University of California, Los Angeles
    Los Angeles, CA
  • Portia E. Iversen (12)
    Cure Autism Now Foundation and
    Autism Genetic Resource Exchange
    Los Angeles, CA
  • Kay Redfield Jamison, Ph.D. (13)
    Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
    The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    Baltimore, MD
  • Dilip V. Jeste, M.D. (10)
    Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair in Aging
    Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and
    Stein Institute for Research on Aging
    University of California, San Diego
    La Jolla, CA
  • David A. Lewis, M.D. (11)
    Director, Translational Neuroscience Program
    University of Pittsburgh
    Pittsburgh, PA
  • Roberto Lewis-Fernandez, M.D. (13)
    Director, Hispanic Treatment Program
    New York State Psychiatric Institute
    Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry
    Columbia University
    New York, NY
  • John S. March, M.D., M.P.H. (10)
    Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
    Director, Division of Neurosciences Medicine
    Duke Clinical Research Institute
    Duke University Medical Center
    Durham, NC
  • Thomas H. McGlashan, M.D. (12)
    Department of Psychiatry
    Yale University School of Medicine
    New Haven, CT
  • Steven M. Paul, M.D. (12)
    Executive Vice President
    Science and Technology
    President, Lilly Research Laboratories
    Eli Lilly and Company
    Indianapolis, IN
  • Enola K. Proctor, Ph.D. (10)
    Frank J. Bruno Professor of Social Work Research
    Washington University in St. Louis
    St. Louis, MO
  • Rhonda Robinson Beale, M.D. (13)
    Chief Medical Officer
    Optum-Health Behavioral Solutions
    Glendale, CA

    Ex Officio Members

    Office of the Secretary, DHHS

    • Kathleen Sebelius
      Department of Health and Human Services
      Washington, DC

    National Institutes of Health

    • Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
      National Institutes of Health
      Bethesda, MD

    Veterans Affairs

    • Ira Katz, M.D., Ph.D.
      Department of Veterans Affairs
      Office of Mental Health Services
      Washington DC

    Department of Defense

    • John A. Ralph, Ph.D.
      Commander, U.S. Navy
      National Naval Medical Center
      Bethesda, MD

    Liaison Representative

    • A. Kathryn Power, M.Ed.
      Director, Center for Mental Health Services
      Rockville, MD