Skip to content

National Advisory Mental Health Council Roster 2010

Department Of Health And Human Services
National Institutes Of Health
National Institute Of Mental Health
National Advisory Mental Health Council

(Terms end 9/30 of designated year)

Back Row: E. Proctor, J. Ralph, D. Geschwind, D. Amaral, E. Childs, R. Desimone, H. Eichenbaum,
J. March, T. McGlashan, R. Robinson Beale, D. Jeste
Front Row: P. Iverson, P. Wang, T. Insel, J. Steinberg, R. Lewis-Fernández, S. Paul

Chairperson Executive Secretary
Thomas R. Insel, M.D.
National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, MD
Jane A. Steinberg, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, MD
David G. Amaral, Ph.D. (12)
Department of Psychiatry
The M.I.N.D. Institute
University of California, Davis
Sacramento, CA

Carl C. Bell, M.D. (11)
President and CEO
Community Mental Health Council and Foundation, Inc.
Director of the Institute of Juvenile Research
Director of Public and Community Psychiatry
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry and Public Health
Department of Psychiatry
University of Illinois
Chicago, IL

Elizabeth Childs, M.D., M.P.A. (10)
Private Practice
Brookline, MA

Robert Desimone, Ph.D. (11)
Director, McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Massachusetts Institute for Technology
Cambridge, MA

Ralph J. DiClemente, Ph.D. (12)
Charles Howard Candler Professor
Department of Behavioral Sciences
and Health Education
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University
Atlanta, GA

Howard B. Eichenbaum, Ph.D. (12)
Professor and Director
Center for Memory and Brain
Department of Psychology
Boston University
Boston, MA

Daniel H. Geschwind, M.D., Ph.D. (11)
Gordon & Virginia MacDonald
Distinguished Chair in Human Genetics
Professor of Neurology & Psychiatry
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Portia E. Iversen (12)
Cure Autism Now Foundation and
Autism Genetic Resource Exchange
Los Angeles, CA

Kay Redfield Jamison, Ph.D. (13)
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Dilip V. Jeste, M.D. (10)
Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair on Aging
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Stein Institute for Research on Aging
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA

David A. Lewis, M.D. (11)
Professor in Translational Neuroscience and Chairman
Department of Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Medical Director and Director of Research
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Pittsburgh, PA

Roberto Lewis-Fernández, M.D. (13)
Director, New York State Center of Excellence for Cultural Competence
New York State Psychiatric Institute
Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry
Columbia University
New York, NY

John S. March, M.D., M.P.H. (10)
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Director, Division of Neurosciences Medicine
Duke Clinical Research Institute
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC

Thomas H. McGlashan, M.D. (12)
Department of Psychiatry
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT

Steven M. Paul, M.D. (12)
Carmel, IN

Enola K. Proctor, Ph.D. (10)
Frank J. Bruno Professor of Social Work Research
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO

Rhonda Robinson Beale, M.D. (13)
Chief Medical Officer
OptumHealth Behavioral Solutions
Glendale, CA

Ex Officio Members Liaison Representative
Office of the Secretary, DHHS
Kathleen Sebelius
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC

National Institutes of Health
Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Department of Veterans Affairs
Ira Katz, M.D., Ph.D.
Deputy Chief
Patient Care Services Officer for Mental Health
Office of Mental Health Services
Department of Veterans Affairs
Washington, DC
A. Kathryn Power, M.Ed.
Director, Center for Mental Health Services
Rockville, MD

Department of Defense
John A. Ralph, Ph.D.
Commander MSC, USN
National Naval Medical Center
Bethesda, MD