Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Peer Review Committees

Grant applications that are assigned programmatically to NIMH (i.e., that are given an MH application number) will be assigned to a peer review committee at either the Center for Scientific Review (CSR), which serves all funding Institutes and Centers of the NIH, or the NIMH Extramural Review Branch. Information about the committees in both of these locations is provided below. A good rule of thumb is that your application will be reviewed at NIMH if you are submitting an application: a) for intervention or services research related to mental health; b) in response to an NIMH RFA; or c) that is a specialized mechanism, such as a Center or Institutional Training mechanism. Otherwise, your application will be reviewed through a committee at the CSR (note, there are exceptions).

The NIMH Extramural Review Branch administers the NIMH Initial Review Group (IRG), which includes one standing committee for review of mental health services applications:

Mental Health Services Research Committee (SERV)

All other NIMH review committees are Special Emphasis Panels (SEPs). An SEP is a one-time meeting of a group of experts called in to review a specific group of applications or even a single application. The acronym for an NIMH SEP always begins with ZMH1.

The meeting rosters for SERV and the NIMH SEPs can also be found on the Office of Extramural Research webpage for the NIH Scientific Review Group Rosters page. Additional information regarding specific areas covered by SERV is available on the SERV information page.

The CSR study section information page provides details about the CSR committees and rosters.

Individuals using this online system should not contact members of advisory/review committees on any aspect of their grant applications. Instead, contact the Scientific Review Officer of the review committee listed on the meeting roster if you have questions about the peer review process.

If you have any additional questions about the peer review committees or their functions, please email David Armstrong, Ph.D., Chief, NIMH Extramural Review Branch,