Skip to content

Office of Intramural Research Administration

The Office of Intramural Research Administration is responsible for obtaining and managing the resources and services needed to operate the Intramural Research Program. OIRA plays a key role in maximizing utilization of financial and human resources, and performing a variety of management functions. OIRA STAFF also provides a wide range of administrative and operational support services:


  • Budget Planning and Tracking
  • NIH Badges, Key requests
  • Property and Inventory
  • Purchasing of Supplies, Equipment and Services
  • Space Floor Plan Design for Labs and Offices
  • Staffing and Workforce Management
  • Technology Transfer
  • Travel Management
Organization chart for the NIMH Office of Intramural Research Administration (OIRA). The chart shows eleven boxes summarizing the hierarchy of OIRA. At the top of the chart is a box showing the OIRA Director, Gwen Shinko. To the left of the Director is the Intramural Budget Office, Analysts Rendy Grinblat and Melissa Carpenter. To the right of the Director is the Technology Transfer Office, Specialists Jenny Wong and Charles Salahuddin; and OIRA Management Analysts, Dorian Oliveira and Eva Kakoza. Reporting to the Director there are two Branches. The Intramural Administrative Services Branch (IASB), Chief Niaema Brewer; reporting to Niaema, Management Analyst Margarita Valencia. And the Intramural Administrative Oversight Branch (IAOSB), Chief Travis Speck. The IASB Branch is made up of two functional teams: the Administrative Officer and Administrative Tech Team, which includes nine Administrative Officers and two Administrative Techs, Team Leaders are Rollin Franks and Milton Kimbrough. The Purchasing Team includes four purchasing agents, the team Leader role is currently vacant; a Procurement Specialist, Dionne Draper, and COAC Liaison, Christina Jeffries. The Intramural Administrative Oversight Branch (IAOSB) is made up of three functional teams: the Human Resource Liaison Team members: Sara Mills, Renata Baginski and Jane Schriver; the Space and Facilities Team: members Pat Williams, John Hollingsworth and Kim Blackmon; and the Property and Inventory Team: members Jason McEntee, Rodney Glass and David Tyler.

Gwen Shinko
Director of Office of Intramural Research Administration
35A Convent Drive, Suite GE416
Bethesda, MD 20892
Telephone: 301.402.9783