Skip to content

Board of Scientific Counselors

The Board of Scientific Counselors provides scientific oversight for the NIMH Intramural Research Program. They conduct regular reviews of NIMH laboratories to evaluate the quality of ongoing and proposed research activities. For questions about the Board, please contact Jennifer E. Mehren, Ph.D. at 301-451-3810. For an overview of the NIH Review Process, see this step-by-step guide.

Edwin Abel, Ph.D., Chair
Professor, Departments of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Psychiatry, and Biochemistry
Director, Iowa Neuroscience Institute
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine

Anissa Abi-Dargham, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry, Vice Chair of Research
Department of Psychiatry
Stony Brook University

Nancy Kanwisher, Ph.D.
Walter A. Rosenblith Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience
Department of Brain and Cognitive Science
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joan Luby, M.D.
Samuel and Mae S. Ludwig Professor of Child Psychiatry
Director, Early Emotional Development Program
Washington University School of Medicine

Margaret M. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Tirin Moore, Ph.D.
Howard Hughes Investigator and Associate Professor
Department of Neurobiology
Stanford University School of Medicine

Patricio O’Donnell, M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Medical Director
Clinical Translational Sciences – CNS
Takeda Pharmaceuticals

Tatiana Pasternak, Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Neuroscience, 
Brain & Cognitive Science, Biomedical Engineering,
and Center for Visual Science
University of Rochester Medical Center

Kerry Ressler, M.D., Ph.D.
James and Patricia Poitras Chair in Psychiatry
Chief, Division of Depression & Anxiety Disorders
Chief Scientific Officer, McLean Hospital
Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School

John L. R. Rubenstein, M.D., Ph.D. 
Nina Ireland Distinguished Professor in Child Psychiatry
Nina Ireland Laboratory of Developmental Neurobiology
Department of Psychiatry
UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences

Joseph S. Takahashi, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Neuroscience
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Loyd B. Sands Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience
Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

David Van Essen, Ph.D.
Alumni Endowed Professor of Neurobiology
Washington University School of Medicine