Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

Chronology of NIMH Directors

NameIn Office FromTo
Joshua A. Gordon2016Present
Bruce N. Cuthbert (Acting)20152016
Thomas R. Insel20022015
Richard K. Nakamura (Acting)20012002
Steven E. Hyman19962001
Rex William Cowdry (Acting)19941996
Frederick K. Goodwin19921994
Alan I. Leshner (Acting)19901992
Lewis L. Judd19881990
Frank J. Sullivan (Acting)19861988
Shervert H. Frazier19841986
Larry Silver (Acting)19841984
Herbert Pardes19781984
Francis N. Waldrop (Acting)19771978
Bertram S. Brown19701977
Stanley F. Yolles19641970
Robert H. Felix19491964