Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

 Archived Content

The National Institute of Mental Health archives materials that are over 4 years old and no longer being updated. The content on this page is provided for historical reference purposes only and may not reflect current knowledge or information.

NIMH Director Joshua Gordon Elected to Rank of AAAS Fellow

American Association of the Advancement of Science (AAAS) to induct Dr. Gordon and other recipients in February ceremony

Institute Update

Dr Josh Gordon seated at desk, hands on keyboard, smiling at camera.

Joshua A. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., Director of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), has been elected to the rank of American Association of the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow. Each year the AAAS Council elects members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.” The latest recipients will be honored during ceremonies on Saturday, February 17, 2018 in Austin, Texas.

“This is a great honor,” said Dr. Gordon. “I’d like to express my sincere thanks to the AAAS Council and colleagues.”

Prior to joining NIMH in September 2016, Dr. Gordon served as associate professor of Psychiatry at Columbia University Medical Center and research psychiatrist at the New York State Psychiatric Institute. As director of the NIMH, Dr. Gordon oversees an extensive research portfolio of basic and clinical research that aims to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.

In addition to his election to the rank of AAAS Fellow, Dr. Gordon’s work has been recognized by several other prestigious awards, including the NARSAD Young Investigator Award from the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation, the Rising Star Award from the International Mental Health Research Organization, the A.E. Bennett Research Award from the Society of Biological Psychiatry, and the Daniel H. Efron Research Award from the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.