Skip to content

COVID-19 is an emerging, rapidly evolving situation.

Get the latest public health information from CDC:
Get the latest research information from NIH:
Get the latest shareable resources on coping with COVID-19 from NIMH:

National Advisory Mental Health Council Roster

Department of Health and Human Services
National Institutes of Health
National Institute of Mental Health
National Advisory Mental Health Council

(Terms end 9/30 of designated year)


Joshua A. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D.
National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, MD

Executive Secretary

Jean Noronha, Ph.D.
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Mental Health
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD


Laura H. Almasy, Ph.D.

Laura H. Almasy, Ph.D. (22)

Department of Genetics
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Marjorie L. Baldwin, Ph.D.

Marjorie L. Baldwin, Ph.D. (22)

Department of Economics
W.P. Carey School of Business
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ

Randy D. Blakely, Ph.D.

Randy D. Blakely, Ph.D. (20)

Executive Director
Florida Atlantic University Brain Institute
Professor of Biomedical Science
Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Florida Atlantic University
Jupiter, FL 

David Goldstein, Ph.D.

David Goldstein, Ph.D. (23)

Institute for Genetic Medicine
Columbia University
Hammer Building
New York, NY

Ian H. Gotlib, Ph.D.

Ian H. Gotlib, Ph.D. (20)

David Starr Jordan Professor
Department of Psychology
Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Alan E. Greenberg, M.D., M.P.H.

Alan E. Greenberg, M.D., M.P.H. (20)

Professor and Chair
Department of Epidemiology
Milken Institute School of Public Health
George Washington University
Washington, DC

David C. Henderson, M.D.

David C. Henderson, M.D. (20)

Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Assistant Dean, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston, MA

Kamilah Jackson, M.D.

Kamilah Jackson, M.D. (23)

Medical Director
Robbinsville, NJ

Lisa H. Jaycox, Ph.D.

Lisa H. Jaycox, Ph.D. (20)

Senior Behavioral Scientist
Health Program
Rand Corporation
Arlington, VA

Cheryl A. King, Ph.D.

Cheryl A. King, Ph.D. (21)

Professor and Director
Youth and Young Adult Suicide Prevention Program
Department of Psychiatry
University of Michigan
Rachel Upjohn Building
Ann Arbor, MI 

Gregory A. Miller, Ph.D.

Gregory A. Miller, Ph.D. (20)

Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology
Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences Member
Brain Research Institute, UCLA
University of California Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Yael Niv, Ph.D.

Yael Niv, Ph.D. (21)

Associate Professor
Princeton Neuroscience Institute
Department of Psychology
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ

Neil J. Risch, Ph.D.

Neil J. Risch, Ph.D. (21)

Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Lamond Family Foundation Distinguished Professor in Human Genetics
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Elyn R. Saks, J.D., Ph.D.

Elyn R. Saks, J.D., Ph.D. (20)

Orrin B. Evans Professor of Law
Gould School of Law
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA

Brandon Staglin

Brandon Staglin, M.S. (21)

One Mind Institute
Rutherford, CA

Joseph Telfair, DrPH, MPH

Joseph Telfair, DrPH, MPH (23)

Professor and Associate Dean for Public Health Practice and Research
Karl E. Peace Distinguished Chair of Public Health
Fellow, Royal Society of Public Health
Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, GA

Sophia Vinogradov, M.D.

Sophia Vinogradov, M.D. (22)

Donald W. Hastings Endowed Chair
University of Minnesota Medical School
Professor and Department Head
Department of Psychiatry
Minneapolis, MN

Hongkui Zeng, Ph.D.

Hongkui Zeng, Ph.D. (23)

Executive Vice President and Director
Allen Institute for Brain Science
Seattle, WA

Ex Officio Members

Office of the Secretary, DHHS

Alex Azar, II

Alex Azar, II

Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC

National Institutes of Health

Francis Collins

Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D.

National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Liaison Representative

Anita Everett, M.D. DFAPA

Anita Everett, M.D. DFAPA

Center for Mental Health Services
HHS Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Rockville, MD

Department of Veterans Affairs

Amy Kilbourne, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Amy Kilbourne, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Quality Enhancement Research Initiative (QUERI)
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Professor of Learning Health Sciences
University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, MI

Department of Defense

CAPT Chad Bradford

Program Director for Mental Health Policy
Office of the Secretary of Defense
Health Services Policy and Oversight
Falls Church, VA