Skip to content

Unit on Neural Computation and Behavior (Histed group)

photo of lab staff of Unit on Neural Computation and Behavior

Research Summary

Seeing a single picture or hearing a sound changes the activity of thousands or millions of neurons in our brains.

We study how brains interpret these patterns of activity and use them to create thoughts and actions.

We study mice, a genetic model species with a cerebral cortex, and we use precise psychophysical behavioral assays and modern optical and electrophysiological methods.

Mark H. Histed, Ph.D. - NIH IRP Principal Investigator Profile 

Members

Mark Histed – principal investigator – mark.histed@nih.gov
Bradley Akitake – research scientist – bradley.akitake@nih.gov
Caitlin Leedy – postbac fellow – caitlin.leedy@nih.gov
Francisca Finkel – student fellow – francisca.finkel@nih.gov
Samuel Duffy – postbac fellow – samuel.duffy@nih.gov
Michelle Tenace – lab administrator – michelle.tenace@nih.gov

Opportunities

Please contact Mark Histed for information about postdoctoral fellowship positions in the laboratory.

PhD students can be supported through NIH Graduate Partnership Programs (GPPs). These partnership programs allow students to create a graduate school experience that bridges the academic and research communities at the NIH and another pre-eminent research institution. Students with interest in neuroscience often consider the GPPs with Brown University (Brown-NIH Neuroscience GPP ), University College London (UCL-NIMH Joint Doctoral Training Program in Neuroscience),  Johns Hopkins University (NIH-JHU GPP ), the Karolinska Institute (Karolinska-NIH Collaborative Doctoral Program in Neuroscience), Oxford University, and Cambridge University (NIH Oxford-Cambridge Scholars Program ). Other institutions that award a PhD with NIH via GPP programs include Boston University, Georgetown, George Washington, and the University of Maryland.
Interested prospective students should reach out via email to discuss graduate research programs and the application process.

Contact info

Mark H. Histed, PhD
Unit on Neural Computation and Behavior
National Institute of Mental Health
Porter Neuroscience Building, 35-3A203
35 Convent Dr.
Bethesda MD 20892
Office: +1 301 402 9208
Email: mark.histed@nih.gov