Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

Office of the Scientific Director


The Office of the Director provides scientific, programmatic, and administrative leadership for the Division of Intramural Research Programs; promotes an environment conducive to productive research; and coordinates activities, establishes priorities, and analyzes and evaluates progress.

Other office involved in administrative oversight and support include:
Office of the Clinical Director (OCD)
Office of Fellowship Training (OFT)
Office of Intramural Research Administration (OIRA)

Photo of Dr. Susan Amara, Ph.D.
Office of the Scientific Director
35A Convent Drive, Suite GE400
Susan G. Amara, Ph.D.
Scientific Director

Janet Clark, Ph.D., Director for Fellowship Training
Charlene Edwards, Executive Assistant to the Scientific Director
Jennifer Mehren, Ph.D., Senior Scientific Advisor
Asim Okur, Ph.D., Scientific Information Officer (SIO)
Maryland Pao, M.D., Deputy Scientific Director and Clinical Director
Christine Piggee, Ph.D., Scientific Diversity Advisor
Claro Yu, Director, Office of Intramural Research Administration