Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

Board of Scientific Counselors

The Board of Scientific Counselors provides scientific oversight for the NIMH Intramural Research Program. They conduct regular reviews of NIMH laboratories to evaluate the quality of ongoing and proposed research activities. For questions about the Board, please contact the NIMH BSC Executive Secretary, Jennifer E. Mehren, Ph.D. For an overview of the NIH Review Process, see this step-by-step guide .

Meeting Dates:
June 5 – 7, 2024 
September 24 – 26, 2024 
February 5 – 7, 2025 
June 4 – 6, 2025 
September 16 – 18, 2025
January 21 – 23, 2026
June 2 – 4, 2026
September 16 – 18, 2026

Tracy L. Bale, Ph.D. 
The Anschutz Foundation Endowed Chair in Women's Integrated Mental and Physical Health Research at the Ludeman Center  
Department of Psychiatry | Professor 
Director, InterGenerational Stress and Health 
Director, Department of Psychiatry Sex Differences Research 
University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus 

André A. Fenton, Ph.D., Chair 
Center for Neural Science, New York University 
and the Neuroscience Institute at the 
NYU Langone Medical Center 

Gordon Fishell, Ph.D. 
Professor of Neurobiology 
Harvard Medical School 
Stanley Center at the Broad 

Kate D. Fitzgerald, M.D., M.S. 
Ruane Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry 
Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons 
and New York State Psychiatric Institute (NYSPI) 

Jennifer M. Groh, Ph.D. 
Professor, Departments of Psychology and 
Neuroscience, Neurobiology, Computer Science, 
and Biomedical Engineering 
Center for Cognitive Neuroscience 
Duke University 

Suzanne N. Haber, Ph.D. 
Dean’s Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Physiology 
University of Rochester Medical Center 

Jacob Michaelson, Ph.D.
Roy J Carver Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience 
Division Director, Computational and Molecular Psychiatry 
University of Iowa 

Lisa M. Monteggia, Ph.D. 
Barlow Family Director of the Vanderbilt Brain Institute 
Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Psychiatry and Psychology 
Vanderbilt University 

Martin P. Paulus, M.D. 
Scientific Director and President 
Laureate Institute for Brain Research& 

K. Luan Phan, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Health 
Jeffrey Schottenstein Endowed Chair of Psychiatry and Resilience 
Charles F. Sinsabaugh Chair in Psychiatry 
The Ohio State University 

Russell A. Poldrack, Ph.D. 
Albert Ray Lang Professor, Department of Psychology 
Director, Stanford Center for Open and Reproducible Science 
Associate Director, Stanford Data Science 
Stanford University 

Kay M. Tye, Ph.D. 
Wylie Vale Chair 
Systems Neurobiology Laboratory 
Salk Institute for Biological Sciences