Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

Background image

Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium

The event is held in honor of Dr. Julius Axelrod to commemorate his monumental contributions to the fields of pharmacology and neuroscience as well as to recognize the Society for Neuroscience (SfN) Annual Axelrod Prize Recipient.

About Julius Axelrod


Dr. Julius Axelrod

Julius Axelrod was a long-time member of SfN and shared the 1970 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his discovery of the actions of neurotransmitters in regulating the metabolism of the nervous system. His well-known work on brain chemistry led to current treatments for depression and anxiety disorders and played a key role in the discovery of the pain-relieving properties of acetaminophen. Throughout his career, Axelrod mentored dozens of young scientists, many of whom have gone on to have distinguished careers in neuroscience and pharmacology. He died in 2004 at age 92.

SfN Julius Axelrod Prize Recipients

2023 – Mark Bear, Ph.D. & Raymond Dingledine, Ph.D.
2022 – Marina Wolf, Ph.D.
2021 – David Ginty, Ph.D.
2020 – Morgan Sheng, M.B.B.S., Ph.D.
2019 – Huda Akil, Ph.D.
2018 – Stephan Waxman, M.D., Ph.D.
2017 – Moses V. Chao, Ph.D.
2016 – Robert Malenka, M.D., Ph.D.
2015 – Pietro De Camilli, M.D.
2014 – Susan G. Amara, Ph.D.
2013 – Joseph T. Coyle, M.D.
2012 – Richard W. Tsien, D.Phil.
2011 – Roger Nicoll, M.D.
2010 – Stephen F. Heinemann, Ph.D.
2009 – Michael E. Greenberg, Ph.D.
2008 – Leslie Iversen, Ph.D.
2007 – Richard Huganir, Ph.D. & David Julius, Ph.D.

NIMH IRP Fellow Axelrod Award Recipients

2023 – Jun Ma, Ph.D.
2022 – Susan Wardle, Ph.D.
2021 – Adrian Gilmore, Ph.D.
2020 – Sofia Beas, Ph.D.
2019 – Edward Silson, Ph.D.
2018 – Amicia Elliott, Ph.D.
2017 – Vincent Costa, Ph.D.
2016 – Qin-Hua Gu, M.D.
2015 – Andrew Emery, Ph.D.

Photo Galleries

11th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium

10th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium

9th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium

8th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium

7th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium