Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

Background image

NIMH IRP Trainee Travel Award

NIMH IRP Trainee Travel Award

The NIMH/IRP Office of Fellowship Training announces a call for nominations for the NIMH IRP Trainee Travel Award program annually. The NIMH IRP Trainee Travel Award competition recognizes the achievements of trainees and encourages them to share their research by giving presentations at scientific conferences. Trainees are awarded $1,000 to assist in defraying the cost of attending and presenting their work at a scientific conference.

All NIMH IRP Post-baccalaureate, Pre-doctoral, Post-Doctoral, Visiting, Research and Clinical Fellows are eligible to apply for the Travel Award.

To apply for an NIMH IRP Trainee Travel Award you must:

  • Acquire a letter of support from your PI. The letter should state that your PI approves of your attendance to the meeting, and that he/she agrees to support the travel expenses that exceed the Travel Award amount;
  • Provide an abstract (ideally the abstract for submission). The abstract you submit should reflect your own current data collected while you have been at the NIMH. The data must be recent, either unpublished, submitted, accepted, in press, or published in the current year.
  • Provide the meeting information and a brief explanation describing how attending and presenting at the meeting will benefit your career.

2019 Award Recipients

  • Rany Abend, Ph.D., Section on Development and Affective Disorders
  • Simon Bohn, B.S., Unit on Neurons, Circuits and Behavior
  • Justine Hayward, B.S., Sleep and Neurodevelopment Service
  • Hanna Keren, Ph.D., Mood, Brain and Development Unit
  • Stacey Kigar, Ph.D., Section on Functional Neuroanatomy
  • Elizabeth Kitt, B.S., Section on Development and Affective Disorders
  • Amy Lieberman, B.S., Section on Psychosis and Cognitive Studies
  • Ana Lourenco Inacio, Ph.D., Unit on Functional Neural Circuits
  • Anahit Mkrtchain, B.Sc., M.Sc., Section on the Neurobiology and Treatment of Mood Disorders
  • Reut Naim-Arch, Ph.D., Neuroscience and Novel Therapeutics Unit
  • Jonah Pearl, B.S., Section on Neural Coding and Computation
  • Zvi Roth, Ph.D., Section on Behavioral Neurophysiology
  • Linnea Sepe-Forrest, B.S., Magnetoencephaolography Core
  • Jose Daniel Zalvidar Perez, Ph.D., Section on Cognitive Neurophysiology and Imaging