Skip to main content

Transforming the understanding
and treatment of mental illnesses.

Celebrating 75 Years! Learn More >>

Background image

NIMH Memorial Fellowship Training Award Program

The NIMH/IRP Office of Fellowship Training announces a call for nominations for the NIMH memorial awards program annually. The goal of this program is two-fold. First, to commemorate the scientific achievements and contributions of distinguished IRP investigators, and second, to identify and facilitate the career growth and development of outstanding IRP postdoctoral, research, and clinical fellows. The Memorial Fellowship Awards recognize the achievements of Dr. Seymour S. Kety, (designated for clinical research) Dr. Richard J. Wyatt (designated for translational research) and Dr. Julius Axelrod (designated for basic research). These two-year awards consist of:

Recipients of the awards will receive:

  • A one-time supplement of $10,000 to help defray research-related expenses;
  • A travel award (amount to be decided upon by the NIMH Scientific Director)

Eligible candidates include:

  • Postdoctoral IRTAs
  • Visiting Fellows
  • Research Fellows
  • Clinical Fellows

Ideally, the fellow should have 2-3 years research experience in the IRP, although candidates having previous extramural postdoctoral experience (<5 years) are still eligible. Nominations are to be submitted by the supervising PI and applications will consist of

  • A letter of nomination,
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae
  • A summary of the fellow’s research project (< 500 words).

The Kety and Wyatt awardees are announced annually at the NIMH IRP Fellows’ Scientific Training Day event. The Axelrod awardee will be announced at the Julius Axelrod Symposium each year.

Previous Award Recipients

Axelrod Award: Jun Ma, Ph.D. (2023)
Kety Award: Sunday Francis, Ph.D. (2023)
Wyatt Award: Sridhar Nerella, Ph.D. (2023)

Axelrod Award: Susan Wardle, Ph.D. (2022)
Kety Award: Emma Condy, Ph.D. (2022)
Wyatt Award: Reut Naim, Ph.D. (2022)

Axelrod Award: Adrian Gilmore, Ph.D. (2021)
Kety Award: Sarah Rudzinskas, Ph.D. (2021)
Wyatt Award: Jason Avery, Ph.D. (2021)

Axelrod Award: Sofia Beas, Ph.D. (2020)
Kety Award: Diana Paksarian, Ph.D. (2020)
Wyatt Award: Simone Haller, Ph.D. (2020)

Axelrod Award: Edward Silson, Ph.D. (2019)
Kety Award: Rany Abend, Ph.D. (2019)
Wyatt Award: Bashkim Kadriu, M.D. (2019)

Axelrod Award: Amicia Elliott, Ph.D. (2018)
Kety Award: Michal Ramot, Ph.D. (2018)
Wyatt Award: Zhi-De Deng, Ph.D. (2018)

Axelrod Award: Vincent Costa, Ph.D. (2017)
Kety Award: Shau-Ming Wei, Ph.D. (2017)
Wyatt Award: Liping Hou, Ph.D. (2017)

Axelrod Award: Qin-Hua Gu, M.D. (2016)
Kety Award: Michael Gregory, M.D. (2016)
Wyatt Award: Christian Meisel, M.D., Ph.D. (2016)

Axelrod Award: Qinhua Gu, M.D. (2015)
Kety Award: Elizabeth Ballard, Ph.D. (2015)
Wyatt Award: Adam Smith, Ph.D. (2015)

Axelrod Award: Drew Emery, Ph.D. (2014)
Kety Award: Marc Niciu, Jr., M.D., Ph.D. (2014)
Wyatt Award: Johanna Jarcho, Ph.D. (2014)